Back in the Real World… sort of

After a peaceful, if at times surreal, weekend at the Cenacle, I’m finally back in the real world. I had a one day lay-over in the land of national holiday sloth… where I vegged out and watched way too much Travel Channel for one day.

As always, there’s a lot to process and maybe out of all the experiences I’ve had this weekend, maybe there is some of it that’s worthy to be out in the public domain. Or perhaps its the other way around;  precisely because my experiences were so valuable they don’t belong in cyberspace. I haven’t decided which is true in my case yet…

Either way, I’m not ready to post much on my weekend yet, besides a worship log and some musings (not random, mind you) on politics. But I don’t have much time right now since I’m getting tired (its 12:41 AM) and I have a pot of kimchi chigae on the stove that I have to keep an eye on. Its valuable… this will be my breakfast/lunch/dinner for at least the next 2.5 days.

But in the meantime, I’ll leave you with this quote from one of my new favorite preachers, Greg Boyd, in response to Obama’s Thursday acceptance speech. I dunno if I get in trouble for saying I like Boyd, but oh well…

Would Obama help unify our country on this and other issues if he was elected? He has such exception personal and political qualities it almost seems possible. Even a foreigner like myself is tempted to hope.

But its precisely at this point that I have to remind myself that I am a citizen of a different empire and am not to get overly invested in civilian affairs. I have to therefore regard Obama’s call to embrace the audacity of this political hope as a temptation. (I’m of course referencing Obama’s book, The Audacity of Hope). Whatever good Obama, McCain or any other politician may or may not be able to accomplish, the ultimate hope and allegiance of all Kingdom citizens must remain in Jesus Christ and in the mustard seed Kingdom he established. Our call as ambassadors of Christ is to individually and corporately look like Jesus in how we love and serve people, including the poor, the marginalized, the judged — and women with unwanted pregnancies. And our call is to trust that God will use the foolishness of this humble, servant activity to advance his Kingdom and ultimately transform the world.

Amen to that, brother.

Leave a Reply

