Sing with Us: An Assortment of Staff Conference Worship Tuneage…

Its just about a week before we kick of National Staff Conference 2011 and I’m excited!

I really believe God will do great things through our week in St. Louis and I’m feeling more and more a sense of gratefulness and joy to just be a part of it. I was reading Luke 2 this evening and was captivated by the story of Simeon, the elderly prophet who longed for the Messiah. In God’s grace and mercy, He allowed Simeon to not only glimpse the Savior in the infant, just-named Jesus, but also to encourage the young couple, Mary and Joseph, that their baby was in fact who the Angel said He was. And then you never hear about Simeon again — He’s gone! I read that passage and  felt like that was our job as a worship team, to glimpse Christ ourselves, point Him out to others and then be gone, letting Him take center stage in the story.

Anyways, that passage super-encouraged me and got me even more excited about the week to come. But as usual, I digress. I originally just wanted to share some of the songs that we’ll be doing in St. Louis so you can worship along with us at home! And if you’re reading this and you are one of my staff colleagues who will be joining us in St. Louis, I hope this can get you excited about the week and also give you a chance to take a listen to some of the songs we’ll be doing! Its not a full list, but some of the ones you may not have heard before…

Obviously I’m biased, but even collecting the youtube clips of these songs blessed me so much, and hope you enjoy them as well!

Deeper, Israel Houghton

I can’t think of a better song that captures BOTH the idea of worship as entering into God’s presence but also being sent out in mission. This is a song that I pray for myself as well as our staff community, that we would go deeper into the waters of God’s presence, that we would be consumed, healed, restored and that would also receive God’s heart.

Our God is Love, Hillsong

I get goosebumps everytime I listen to this song, not just because of the anthemic, stadium rock feel, but because the the lyrics really match with the epic nature of the music. The image of every nation, every tongue finding hope in the love of the Father. All creation bowing as one. This song speaks tothat beautiful majestic truth in both lyrics and music… I’m really excited to sing it with our staff community and pray it together.

Praise to the Lord the Almighty, Travis Cottrell

An amazing hymn that has been sung in the Church for centuries. Its going to ROCK the house. ‘Nuff said…

Holy God, by Brian Doerkson

This song was recommended by Chad, our acoustic guitarist. When I heard the song, I was immediately transported into the throne room in worship. Has that ever happened when you listen to a song? I can’t remember many times that has happened to me, but it was really clear that this song really pointed people towards God. As I shared that experience with others, I found out that many people had that experience as well. It once again proves to me that some songs truly are anointed,  modern-day altars within which God dwells, literally “inhabiting the praise of His people.” You can watch a video clip of the song story here.

Everybody Clap Your Hands, Joshua’s Troop

Get ready to DO YOUR DANCE! This song is such a joy to sing and is a celebration of praising God with all that we are, all that we have. You are going to like this one, for sure. I led this song during an evangelistic outreach on Mackinac Island, Michigan, with students and staff from InterVarsity Leadership Institute (IVLI), Great Lakes East/West’s summer leadership program at Cedar Campus.  It was an infectious song that gathered a crowd of people, many of whom stayed to hear the Gospel presented.

Everybody clap your hands!

Que Todos Los Pueblos Te Alaben, Marco Barrientos

Disco will rule the day with this song! This song will get funky and will feature our killer rhythm section, but the lyrics are also really awesome too!

Que todos los pueblos te alaben, que toda tu creacion hoy te corone Rey. Digan que tu eres poderoso. Tu eres rey.

That all the peoples would worship You, that today all Your creation will crown You as King. They proclaim You are powerful. You are King!

Your Great Name, Natalie Grant

A recommendation by Keith, this is an amazing song about the power of God to change and renew all things, who would have thought of a better song for a conference about “Campuses Renewed.”

Lost are saved; find their way; at the sound of your great name

All condemned; feel no shame, at the sound of your great name

Every fear; has no place; at the sound of your great name

The enemy; he has to leave; at the sound of your great name

Jesus, Worthy is the Lamb that was slain for us

Son of God and man, You are high and lifted up and all the world will praise Your great name

I Give Myself Away, William McDowell

If you can pray the words of this song for the staff at Staff Conference, that each and every one of us, by God’s grace, would be able to say these words from the depths of our heart (and mean it)….that would be amazing:

I give myself away
I give myself away
So You can use me
I give myself away
I give myself away
So You can use me

Verse 1:
Here I am
Here I stand
Lord, my life is in your hands
Lord, I’m longing to see
Your desires revealed in me
I give myself away

Verse 2:
Take my heart
Take my life
As a living sacrifice
All my dreams all my plans
Lord I place them in your hands

See you in St. Louis (either physically or in spirit)!!!! =)

The SC11 Worship Team (L-R: Matt (bass), Rachel (soprano), Anthony (e.guitar, musical director), Ebay (drums), Chad (a.guitar), Keith (chaplain and giver of delicious foods), Erina (keys, alto), Maritza (alto), Audrey (a.guitar, soprano), cool guy (keys, tenor) and Jackie (alto, tenor, vocal jill-of-all-trades)).


2 thoughts on “Sing with Us: An Assortment of Staff Conference Worship Tuneage…

  1. okay – SC11 has been driving me crazy the past few months, but after reading your blog and listening to the songs…i am getting pumped to worship. 🙂 thanks, andy kim! you rock.

Leave a Reply

